Meeting of the WV State Election Commission 9:00 AM on Friday, July 17, 2020 Skype Conference Call

• State Election Commission Members in Attendance:

- o Matthew Chapman
- o Anthony Delligatti
- o Mac Warner, WV Secretary of State and Acting Chair

Others in Attendance:

- Chris Alder
- Nathan Martin, WVSOS Elections Specialist
- Brittany Westfall, Elections Director
- Ben Swartz and Ben Parker, ES&S

CALL TO ORDER:

- Meeting called to order by Secretary Warner at 9:08 AM
- o Quorum established

NEW BUSINESS:

- Approval of Minutes from June 26, 2020 Meeting:
 - Matthew Chapman moves to approve
 - Mr. Delligatti seconds
 - All in favor. Motion passed.

Total CARES funds = \$3,797,620

Grants already approved = \$154,950.62

Available CARES funds = \$3,642,669.38

- **VOTE #1** After detailed review by the SOS in-house legal team, and several hours of review by the HAVA Board, individual counties applications will be considered in the aggregate, unless an SEC member requests discussion or amendment.
 - Berkeley \$74,746.39
 - Boone \$20,521.14
 - Braxton \$14,303.37
 - Brooke \$30,029.57
 - Cabell \$68,045.85
 - Clay \$3,416.34
 - Doddridge \$997.01
 - Gilmer #3 \$1,432.07

- Greenbrier \$7,416.00
- Harrison \$50,291.69 (Express Vote ballots not approved)
- Jefferson \$34,689.02
- Jackson \$7,627.95
- Kanawha \$245,167.27
- Lewis #2 \$15,405.05 (security cameras not approved)
- Marion \$72,623.09 (e-poll books not approved)
- Mercer \$77,666.40
- Monroe -\$22,314.43
- Morgan \$3,289.17
- Nicholas \$21,748.21
- Ohio \$35,130.01
- Pendleton \$6,010.14
- Pocahontas \$17,645.07
- Preston \$15,825.17 (leased precinct space not allowed)
- Putnam \$83,995.91
- Ritchie #3 \$2,085.94
- Roane \$12,662.13
- Taylor \$12,426.81
- Upshur \$23,318.06 (ES&S software not allowed)
- Wayne \$18,793.92
- Webster \$7,302.29
- Wetzel \$11,348.89
- Wirt \$4,709.12
- Wood \$87,874.04 (Absentee ballot request forms not allowed)

Grants being considered today = \$1,099,631.45

Total Grants awarded and under consideration today = \$1,254,582.07

Remaining CARES Act funds = \$2,543,037.93

Counties actively working on CARES applications: Fayette, Hampshire, Mason, Mineral, Monongalia, Raleigh, Summers, McDowell,

Counties who have actively declined CARES funding: Grant

Counties have not submitted CARES applications, have not been in contact with SOS, and have not returned inquiring calls this week: Marshall, Mingo, Monroe

1) Consideration of HAVA Subgrant Applications

Available HAVA-3 funds: \$4,044,353.00 (state funds only)

Granted to date: \$0

- After detailed review by the SOS in-house legal team, and several hours of review by the HAVA Board, HAVA applications will be considered in two groups, unless an SEC member requests discussion or amendment.
 - Mr. Delligatti requests to recuse himself from voting on Berkeley county
 - Mr. Chapman motions to approve Berkeley county
 - Secretary Warner seconds.
 - Motion approved
 - \circ $\,$ Mr. Chapman moves to approve the rest of the counties
 - o Mr. Delligatti seconds
 - Motion approved

VOTE #2 Brooke and Marion will be considered in the first group of HAVA grant applications.

- Brooke \$510,136.00
- Marion \$1,744,175.00

Both Brooke and Marion County applied for DS450 tabulators. The HAVA Board recommends that both requests are reduced by the difference in cost between the DS450 and the DS200. SOS Staff recommends that the SEC approve the full application amount including the DS450 for both Brooke and Marion.

- Mr. Chapman moves to approve Brooke and Marion county
- Secretary Warner seconds
- Motion approved

VOTE #3 Harrison, Lincoln, Mingo, Putnam and Tucker will be considered in the first group of HAVA grant applications.

- Harrison \$167,575.00
- Lincoln \$65,145.00
- Mingo \$120,335.00
- Putnam \$183,974,71
- Putnam \$44,911.45
- Tucker \$141,521.00
 - Secretary Warner moves to approve Harrison, Lincoln, Mingo, Putnam (2), and Tucker
 - Mr. Chapman seconds
 - Motion approved

Grants being considered today: \$3,018,169.89 (state funds + local match)

WV responsibility for grants considered today: \$1,798,328.41 (state funds only)

Remaining CARES funds: \$2,246,024.60 (state funds only)

Counties who have received prior HAVA funds: Barbour, Boone, Braxton, Cabell, Clay, Doddridge, Fayette, Grant, Greenbrier, Hampshire, Hancock Hardy, **Harrison**, Jackson, Jefferson, Kanawha, **Lincoln**, Logan, **Marion**, Mason, Mercer, Mineral, **Mingo**, Monongalia, Monroe, Nicholas, Ohio, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Preston, **Putnam**, Raleigh, Ritchie, Roane, Summers, Upshur, Wayne, Wetzel, Wood Wyoming

2) Other Business

ADJOURNMENT:

- Motion by Mr. Delligatti to adjourn
- Secretary Warner seconds
- Motion passed and adjourned at 9:31 AM.

Minutes Taken By: Nathan Martin